Learning to Decompress

Ten weeks in Costa Rica. Lots of time at the beach, in the pool and relaxing. We are four and a half weeks in with five and a half weeks to go. It has been a wonderful time for our family–experiencing the culture, practicing the language, going to the beach (oh how we’ve missed the beach while living in Tennessee!), enjoying the tropical fruit and just getting out of our regular routine. Always good to change things up every once in awhile to keep the spice in life.

We’re already talking about doing another trip like this, whether it’s back to Costa Rica or to a new destination. From our time working in ministry with Every Nation Ministries, we know people all over the world. Why not go visit? Let’s see new places, experience new things, make some more memories! My husband can work from anywhere as long as he has Internet access, so we want to take advantage of that while we can.

This adventure has definitely been an opportunity for me to learn how to decompress. I’m a “type-A” personality. I love to accomplish things. It makes me feel good. Checking things off my to-do list has almost entirely been put on hold while we’re here. I find myself looking for things to do. I get antsy if I don’t have something to do. There’s not much to do here except go to the beach, go in the pool, surf the web and read. I know, I know….you must be thinking, “Poor you. Life is rough!”

Maybe it would be easier if I didn’t have two small children to entertain without their own toys and at a very non-child-friendly property (house on the side of a steep mountain with a dangerous deck and pool). Watching my kids like a hawk to make sure they don’t fall off the deck or into the pool has replaced other activities of mine. Thank goodness that we got Devon into daycare five mornings a week or I would really be going bonkers trying to entertain him here.

My need to accomplish something has driven me to finally start blogging. My hubby has been encouraging me for months to start a blog, so here we go. I’ve found that the writing process helps me really chew on my thoughts and digest what I’m thinking/feeling/experiencing, which can help me learn more about myself and make adjustments to my thoughts and attitudes as necessary. What a great added benefit.

So have I decompressed after four and a half weeks? Well….that’s probably an ongoing process. I still feel a bit antsy, so I think the answer is no. At least not fully. Has it been good for me? Absolutely. Would I do it again? Absolutely, and hopefully not too far in the future. But I am looking forward to “normal life” again–living in our own house with our own things, being back in a house that’s set up for kids and having access to…almost anything (except the beach; there are trade-offs to everything).

I have loved, loved, loved all the time we’ve been able to spend at the beach. Playing with the kids in the water, picking up shells, enjoying the beauty of God’s creation. (The beach has always been a reminder to me of the majesty, power and magnitude of God.) And we plan to make the most of the rest of our time here and spend as much time at the beach as possible.

The to-do list will still be there when I get home.

10 thoughts on “Learning to Decompress

  1. I am impressed with your blog…..As usual. you do everything with excellence. I know I’m a little biased since I’m your mother. I am a little “jealous” of your experience/opportunity to be in Costa Rica for two months. Your dad never had a job where we could do that. But I did try to give you and your sister as many experiences/trips as possible. It was a little difficult because of your dad’s work schedule and so much time away from the family. I am very happy for you. Love, Mom.

    • We had lots of wonderful opportunities that I am very thankful for–dance, music, going to shows, Girl Scouts, gymnastics, swimming, and all the time we got to spend with Grandma in Washington. Just to name a few. Love you, Mom 🙂

  2. Enjoyed reading your first “post.” It was beautifully written. I also love the beach and the ocean. It is so beautiful but powerful in so many ways, both good and bad. Even though I love the ocean I have always been a little afraid of it. When I was a kid I used to often have dreams where giant waves would be coming after me even when I was crawling up a mountain to get away. Then the dreams finally stopped. In the last few years I have only had one “wave” dream. Ha Continue to enjoy your time in Cost Rica and be safe. Love, G June

  3. Keep it coming. I enjoyed reading. My family and I enjoy get-aways whenever we can. I have found that picking up customers in areas I would like to visit help alot. Travel there on business, spend a few extra days exploring and hiking. (We love hiking.) It allows us to decompress regularly so it doesn’t take as long to get to a relaxed state.

    • Thanks, Adam. Glad you enjoyed it. Luke showed me some of your awesome pictures from your travels. Great idea about picking up customers in places you want to visit 🙂

  4. I was just looking at your blog…..Probably you haven’t had time to post any new entries because of the “internet situation” in Costa Rica. I will look more often after you return home to Nashville.

  5. I know this is three years late, however- as fellow Type A person- I actually put rest on my list on the Sabbath. Yes I know, it’s a bit much, however if it’s not on there then it won’t get done. I know you had a wonderful time. Glad to see everyone doing well.

Leave a comment